The Residence Castle in Ludwigsburg was built between 1704 and 1733 during the reign of Duke Eberhard Ludwig of Württemberg in the baroque style. It is one of the largest baroque Castles in Germany which was not damged during the First and Second World War’s.
In the beginning of the 18th Century the reconstruction of a hunting lodge was planned at the side where formelry the Erlachhom who was destroyed by french troops in 1693, had been standing. In the following years the builder Philipp Joseph Jenisch was commissioned with more elaborate plans. A small castle was built, the foundation stone of which was laid on the 07.05.1704. It was given the name the name Ludwigsburg by Duke Eberhard Ludwig on the 11.05.1704.
As early as 1706 the new and more talented court architect Johann Friedrich Nette designed more generous plans. These were a three-wing-system that was then common. In the following years, the main building was built in the north of the complex, the so-called “Old Corps de Logis”. Shortly afterwards, the main building was expanded on both narrow sides with the hunting and the play pavilion and connecting galleries. To these galleries, a side wing was built at a right angle to the main building (construction of the monastery in the west, huge building in the east), so that a three-wing system with an open courtyard was opened to the south. In 1709, when the building had progressed to a small degree, the Duke moved his permanent residence to Ludwigsburg. Until the 1730s, further expansion was taking place. After the death of the archtect Johann Friedrich Nette, the former stucco artist Donato Giuseppe Frisoni was appointed court architect. From 1715 he planned to enlarge the existing Castle considerably. The triple wing system was expanded by additional wing structures, the two cavalier buildings. The castle church was built behind the wing buildings in the east, and the symmetrical counterpart in the west (later used as a religious chapel). Parallel to the cavalier buildings were erected in the west the Festinbau, in the east the theater building. This completed the triple wing system. Despite these immense expansions for the halls and rooms of the court, the castle system did not yet meet the growing requirements. There was a lack of rooms which enabled a smooth operation, and the ducal dwellings themselves. The Duke’s apartment was at this time still in the “Old Corps de Logis”. The size of the apartment corresponded to the originally intended function as hunting and pleasure locks and did not satisfy the contemporary requirements of a ducal representation apartment. Further enlargements were needed. Frisoni initially planned an expansion by encasing the main building, similar to that of the Versailles Palace. In Ludwigsburg, this solution would have been possible only at very great cost and expense because of the terrain information. Therefore, a new and much larger structure, the “New Corps de Logis” was chosen for another variant. This was built in the south of the triangle, opposite the “Old Corps de Logis”. Two long galleries (ancestral and picture gallery) combine the cavalier buildings of the already existing plant with the new main building and close the existing three- to the four-wing facility. In the south of the new building a large garden was laid out, which can be reached from the inner courtyard (through the so-called “Hirschgang”) under the building. At the death of the duke in 1733, the “New Corps de Logis” was completed in the exterior, while the interior was still incomplete.
In 1746 the construction of the Neue Schloß in Stuttgart was started and the residence moved again to Stuttgart, but after it was heavily damged by a fire in 1764 Ludwgsburg became again the residence until 1775. In 1790 the future King Friedrich I. moved into the Palace after he had returned to Württemberg after serving abroad. Between 1802 and 1811 King Friedrich I. let all the apartments west of the marble hall in the New Corps de Logis to his new royal apartment and furnished in the elegant classicist style. Starting with the anteroom, which adjoins the marble room, the official rooms are located on the south side of the garden. The private apartments are facing the courtyard. He and his wife Queen Charlotte Mathilde where the last permanent residents of Ludwigsburg Castle. The future Kings used the Castle only occasionally and lived mainly in Stuttgart.
After the monarchy was abolished the Castle was taken over by the State of Württemberg. In 1954 for the 250 anniversary of the Castle the Garden surrounding the Castle on 3 sides was created in the baroque Stlye how it may have looked arounrd 1800. It was only intended to sty for 6 monthy but it bvecame such a success that it remained a fixture and is now known as the blooming Barocque. Also a Garden of the fairytales was etablished in a part of the Garden. contains some thirty depictions from several fairy tales.
Ludwigsburg Castle is open daily the entire year except for Mondays. There are several guided including 2 in english during weekdays and 3 in english at the weekeds:
The blooming Baroque is open during the Saison. which is usually from Middle march till the beginning of November.