The Princely House of Castell-Castell
Mentioned it appears already on 03.03.1057 with Rubbrath (Rupert) de Castele in Castell and called off in 1091 after the headquarters “de Castello”. 1202/5 the Family was raised to imperial counts. It had the right to conduct the road from Kitzingen to boys oak (direction Neustadt) and on the entire road from Würzburg to Bamberg.
Since neither Konrad or Heinrich had male descendants, the county in 1597 was once again divided between the sons of George II.
Wolfgang II. became Count of Castell-Remlingen
Gottfried became Count of Castell-Rüdenhausen
Albrecht Friedrich Carl founded the line Castell-Castell
Christian Friedrich founded the line Castell-Rüdenhausen
During the reign of the Nazis in the 1930s and 1940s, the since 1774 exisitng Castell’sche Princely Bank added into the new political and economic system. It ranks today, by its own account, the behavior of the Bank towards its Jewish customers not as aggressively, but it was not characterized by special sympathy for the severity of the fate of their Jewish fellow citizens. The political attitude of the family was the Nazis inclined towards very and you can describe it as linientreu against the system and its values. Carl Fürst zu Castell-Castell joined in May 1933 the NSDAP and rose 1935 cavalry leader of the SA group francs. The sons Albrecht and Philipp joined the “young people” in and participated in events of the Hitler Youth. According to information provided admired Albrecht until well into the Second World War in the perfection and aggression of Hitler’s state apparatus and foreign policy. The attidutde of the father Fürst Carl towards Jews was a negative. When he was drafted in 1939 as a reserve officer, did the two sons Albrecht and Philipp equal to the Father and also went to war. Albrecht returned in 1945 from the war; his brother and his father fell. Almost 50 years after the war, Fürst Albrecht tried atonement and opened the historical archives of the Bank. He made it possible to investigate the fate of 163 of its Jewish customers. Only a few survived in Germany.
The Family owns among others together with the line Castell-Castell the Princely Castell Bank, Credit-Casse AG – short Castell-Bank. The independent private bank was founded in 1774 as Counts Castell-Remlingen’sche country credit Cassa and is the oldest bank in Bavaria, with headquarters in Würzburg. 1857 it was re-established as a private Counts Castell’sche New Credit-Casse. They also owns the The Princely Castell’sche Domänenamt which is the winery of Castell-Castell. The history of Castell is closely associated with viticulture in the region. Already in 1266 the documents in Castell, Hohnart, Schlossberg and Trautberg were documented. The first planting of the Silvaner vines in Germany is doucumented in 1659 in the County Castell.
1803-1810 Albrecht Friedrich Carl
married to Princess Sophie Charlotte zu Löwenstein-Wertheim-Virneburg
1810-1875 Friedrich Ludwig
married to Princess Friederike Christiane Emilie zu Hohenlohe-Langenburg
married to Countess Emma zu Solms-Rödelheim and Assenheim
1886-1923 Friedrich Carl
married to Countess Gertrud zu Stolberg-Wernigerode
married to Princess Anna Agnes zu Solms-Hohensolms-Lich
married to Princess Marie Luise zu Waldeck and Pyrmont
married to Countess Marie-Gabrielle of Degenfeld-Schonburg
|TSH the late Fürst Albrecht and Fürstin Marie Luise|