The name Lanburg was first mentioned in 1225 as Langenberg. From1235 the old Castle was rebuild the 2 old round massiv towers are from that time. Between 1610 and 1616 Count Philipp Ernst the Castle was reconstructed as Princely Residence in the Renaissance Style. Especialla striking from this time is the Inner Court with its galleries, gables and stair towers . From 1657 – 1759 the Castle was again reconstructed this time in the somber Baroque style. In this time the 2 bridges which go overt the 2 depp channels to the Main entrance of the Castle where cionstructed. In the 19th and 20th Century the outside of the Caslte was largely mantained until a big fire in January 1963 where the East and North wing of the Castle wings burned down to a big part. In the followings spring it was started to rebuild the Castle was begung and finished in summer 1968. Today the Castle is the residence of Fürst Philipp zu Hohenlohe-Langenbrug and his wife Fürstin Saskia and their 3 children, Hereditary Prince Max Leopold, Prince Gustav and Princess Marita.