The Truchsessen of Waldburg built in the Middle Ages a small castle, which was aborted 1598. Truchsess Froben of Waldburg-Zeil built the present four-wing Renaissance castle from 1599 to 1614. He had previously built a church and a house monastery. The surrounding garden of the Renaissance period was adapted in the Baroque, in the 19th century and in the 20th century, but since the 1930s has been restored in the Renaissance style. In the courtyard of the castle is a well created in the years 1982 to 1989 by Maximilian Rueß.
The castle is used as a private residence of the family and the property administration can not be visited. However, the park and the viewing terrace are open to the public all year round. The parish church of St. Maria is part of the palace.
t the End of the Castle Garden one walks into another Court. There the parish Church St. maria is located. it is used as parish Chruch by the Princely Family who also uses it for marriages. There is alsp a Crypt where many members of the Family are buried-